Greens publish Lothian regional list for Holyrood 2016

The Westminster election campaign might be in full swing but the local Greens are also looking further ahead to the 2016 Holyrood elections.

Following a ballot of members during March, the party can today confirm who will head up the party’s lists in Lothian next year.

With the Greens regularly polling at ten per cent or above for the Scottish Parliament regional vote, the party is confident of securing enough votes to elect two Green MSPs in Lothian next May, repeating the same success as the 2003 election.

AJ in chamber for webAlison Johnstone, Scottish Green MSP for Lothian came top of the Lothian list again and is joined this time by well-known land and democracy campaigner, Andy Wightman, who takes the second slot. Alison said:

“It’s an honour to be selected again to run in Lothian region. Since being elected in 2011 I’ve worked hard on many local issues and campaigned across Scotland to stop fracking and win ownership rights for football fans.

“Of course, there’s the small matter of a Westminster campaign to contest first. Over the next five weeks all of our attention is focused on persuading people to vote for what they really believe in – the dignity of decent pay, public services in public hands and power where it belongs, at a community level.

“But it is a real strength to know that as soon as the dust has settled on the Westminster election Scottish Greens are in pole position, with an impressive regional team, to return our best ever result in the 2016 Holyrood elections.”

The Green list for Lothian is as follows:

  1. Alison Johnstone
  2. Andy Wightman
  3. Lorna Slater
  4. Peter McColl
  5. Alys Mumford
  6. Steve Burgess
  7. Pat Black
  8. Chas Booth
  9. James Mackenzie
  10. Dan Heap