The Edinburgh Committee runs the branch and provides liaison between the members and our elected representatives, and the general political direction of the branch. It is elected at the AGM every June.

You can find a full breakdown of Committee roles here.

As one of the larger branches, we have both a Male and Female Co-Convenor in accordance with the Scottish Greens’ policy of gender balancing. The Convenors are the leaders of the branch, and represent the branch to the wider Party at Scottish Green Party Council.

The Secretary keeps the Committee in order (no mean task!) and the Treasurer keeps their eye on the purse strings. Our Membership Secretary will be the first point of contact for most new members, and deals with issues that may arise.

The Election Liaison Officer ensures we are legally compliant with all statutes that cover local and national elections, and acts as our Returning Officer. The External Communications Officer runs the branch social media accounts, produces the fortnightly email newsletter, looks after the website and produces branch publications such as the Green News which goes through letterboxes throughout the City.

The Policy Officer acts as our liaison with our councillors and the parliamentary team, and develops policy with an Edinburgh eye. The Fundraising Officer acts with the Treasurer and attempts to raise funds for the branch. We also have four Ordinary Members, who do not have a specific portfolio but pitch in wherever and whenever they are needed.

Committee meetings are also attended by representatives from South East Edinburgh Sub-Branch, Edinburgh Young Greens, the Green Councillor Group and the Parliamentary Group to ensure good communication and accountability.

Edinburgh Greens have a couple of working groups. The Events Group produce a couple of events a year which are outwith the normal branch meetings, which may be fundraising events. The Comms Group produce Green News and other publications that the branch needs throughout the year. While the Events Group and the Comms Group are unelected, they are always looking for volunteers to help them!

The current Committee is:

  • Co-Convenors: Evelyn Weston and Phyl Meyer
  • Vice Convenor: Rob Gowans
  • Welfare and Conduct Officer: Gillian Mackay
  • Secretary: Konstanze McLeod
  • Treasurer: Becky Luff
  • Membership Secretary: Iain McKinnon-Waddell (acting)
  • Election Liaison Officer: Dave Owen
  • Communications Officer: Dan Heap
  • Policy Officer: Peter Mountford-Smith
  • Events and Engagement Officer: Lorna Slater
  • Fundraising Officer: Rhiannon Spencer-Jones
  • Local Groups Development Officer: Robert Williamson
  • Campaigns Officer: Kevin Illingworth
  • Ordinary Members: Kate Joester, Jenny Smith, Bob Keim, Justin Ryan

If you would be interested in filling an unfilled post, or supporting the committee by sitting on a working group, please get in contact with our co-conveners on